Texas Psychedelic Rock!
Join the Texas Psych Google Group!

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Review of Neal Ford and the Fanatics CD - Good Men

Neal Ford and the Fanatics
Neal Ford and the Fanatics

I bought the, Neal Ford and the Fanatics, Good Men CD and really like it. The music is great Texas garage/psych but what really makes it for me is the production. Granted, I have only listened to it in my car but it sounds like they took the time to obtain a proper transfer from analog to digital. So, so many of these artists, like the 'Elevators, suffer from shitty sounding CDs. To this day, the 'Elevators do not have a proper sounding CD out there. Only our fan produced, Roky CD Club, 'Elevators discs sound OK.

The top band in Houston, Texas during the mid-1960s; Neal Ford & The Fanatics was a tight and professional outfit responsible for some of the best garage sounds from the region. Led by Ford and featuring talented writer-members Lanier Greig, Jon Pereles and Johnny Stringfellow, the Fanatics ruled the roost in Houston at clubs including the Catacombs. When they signed to Nashville indie Hickory in late 1966 they seemed destined for national stardom.

This Neal Ford CD is new and CRAMMED with great music with 26 songs on it. It features several of the Fanatics’ popular singles for Hickory and cuts from their lone album for the label, as well as fantastic earlier sides released on the Houston regional labels Gina and Tantara. Well over half of this anthology has never appeared on compact disc before, and there are several unissued titles that add enormously to the band’s reputation. As I have said above, the audio aural experience is a good one.

The CD is rounded off with a well-illustrated, in-depth booklet with notes by Alec Palao, that tells the tale of these cornerstone Houston Sixties rockers.

Here's the Track Listing:

(** - previously unreleased)

1       Good Men
2       I Will Not Be Lonely (with hard ending)
3       Don’t Tie Me Down (Tantara 45 version)
4       Gonna Be My Girl (orig. mix with hard ending)
5       Better Slow Down**
6       I Can’t Go On
7       I Will If You Want To
8       Woman
9       Movin’ Along
10      The Seasons**
11      Bitter Bells (Tantara 45 version)
12      Save Your Affection**
13      Baby, You’re Gonna Cry**
14      For You
15      Nothing Left To Do
16      Pain
17      I Have Thoughts Of You
18      One Times One Ain’t Two
19      Shame On You
20      That Girl Of Mine
21      Night Time**
22      (I’ve Got A) Brand New Girl
23      Little World Girl
24      Medley: Lucille / I’m Down**
25      The Jones
26      KTRK jingle / Every Night A New Surprise (backing track)**

Click HERE to purchase this CD from Amazon. 

Click HERE to read a previous post on this blog about the Fanatics.

Join the Google Texas Psych Group!

No comments: