Texas Psychedelic Rock!
Join the Texas Psych Google Group!

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Frank Zappa Armadillo World Haedquarters Poster by Jim Franklin

Frank Zappa Armadillo

Check out this, rare-as-hen's-teeth, Frank Zappa Armadillo World Headquarters poster by Jim Franklin. The date is 10/26/73. Jim Franklin really captured the zaniness and genius of the late, great, Frank Zappa with this drawing.

This poster is immaculate. Please click on the picture to enlarge.

Please see the set-list for this show below:

Cosmik Debris
Inca Roads
Pygmy Twylyte
The Idiot Bastard Son
Big Swifty
The San Clemente Magnetic Deviation (Dickie's Such an Asshole) (premiere)
Farther O'Blivion (incl. parts of Steno Pool Be-bop Tango Drums Cucamonga)
Son of Mr. Green Genes> King Kong> Chunga's Revenge

Frank Zappa - guitar, vocals
George Duke - keyboards, vocals, tiny little notes
Napoleon Murphy Brock - vocals, saxophone, flute
Tom Fowler - bass
Ruth Underwood - percussion
Bruce Fowler - trombone, dancing
Chester Thompson - drums
Ralph Humphrey - drums

Here's a video containing the song, Big Swifty, from that show:

To read a very entertaining account of this show at the Armadillo please visit the Threadgill's blog:

Download the show here:

Join the Google Texas Psych Group!

No comments: